Shortlisted Writers for Etisalat Prize for Literature‬ – 2014

Etisalat announced a shortlist of three writers for the 2014 version of #‎EtisalatPrizeforLiterature‬.

The shortlisted writers for this year’s ‪‎Etisalat Prize for Literature‬ and their works are:

– Nadia Davids, An Imperfect Blessing published by Random House Struik-Umuzi;
– Chinelo Okparanta, Happiness Like Water published by Granta Publication
– Songeziwe Mahlangu, Penumbra published by Kwela Books, Imprint of NB Publishers.

The strength of the shortlist is exemplified in the belief that any of the shortlisted writers would make a worthy winner.

“Whether it is David’s multigenerational family story set in Cape Town’s Muslim community at the dawn of the new South Africa, or Okparanta’s bittersweet tales of loss and love in Nigeria and abroad, or Mahlangu’s unflinching exploration of mental illness set in contemporary South Africa, each of these books is uniquely compelling.

The winner of the Etisalat Prize for Literature 2014 will be presented with a cheque of £15,000, an engraved Montblanc Meisterstück and will attend the Etisalat Fellowship at the prestigious University of East Anglia, mentored by Professor Giles Foden, author of The Last King of Scotland.

Congratulations Guys.

MSG Team.

Become a fan on Facebook and us on twitter for our new updates.

Related Posts:

Leave a Reply

Share this with others.